South Brazil


The South Brazil Region consists of three states. Paraná, Santa Catarina and Rio Grande do Sul With 576,409.6 square kilometers long, it’s the smallest region of Brazil bordering Uruguay, Paraguay and Argentina. With great European influence due to immigration in the nineteenth century, mainly German and Italian, you can notice the their customs in the architecture of some cities, the language and cuisine as well as introduction of  a poly-culture system and the small farms in the region. Some southern cities celebrate the traditions of immigrants in traditional festivals, such as Oktoberfest in Blumenau. The climate of the southern region is subtropical, except for the northern Paraná’s predominantly tropical climate. With large temperature variations, it is the coldest region of the country where, during the winter frost occurs, and in some localities as the central Paraná, and the mountainous plateau of Rio Grande do Sul and Santa Catarina, it can even snow. The seasons are very different and rain falls over the entire region with some regularity throughout the year. The vegetation of the South is diversified, despite being remembered by Araucaria Forest and Pampas Gauchos.

We have selected 3 destinations in this region:

Explore the Place

Where is it in this world?

Get Updates & More

Thoughtful thoughts to your inbox

Fill out my online form


*We never send spam

Fill out my online form